Training for Research-Enterprise Development 

As part of the programme for quality assurance in higher education, the Ministry of Higher and Secondary Specialised Education of the Republic of Uzbekistan and the British Council in Uzbekistan carried out a project aimed at developing sustainable links between the university-based research and industry and establishing international partnerships in this important area.

The first stage of the prgramme included a series of scientific and practical seminars for 320 university vice-rectors responsible for scientific work, PhD students and undergraduates from 65 universities of the country. The seminars were held on the basis of three institutes: in Tashkent Financial Institute on 31 January and 1 February, in Samarkand State University on 3 February and in Namangan State University on 5 February 2018. The programme was implemented by a team of trainers from universities in Uzbekistan and UK consultants Jo Chaffer and Martin Penny.

The purpose of the first stage of the programme is to:
• identify the skills necessary to ensure the focus of research work in higher education institutions on economic development, specific practical outcomes and international cooperation
• discuss the international experience of conducting research work, ensuring its close connection with business and industry with vice-rectors responsible for scientific work, undergraduates and PhD students of universities of Uzbekistan
• to look into the models of collaboration between the university research activities and the industry
• to develop the skills of modern research work and to familiarise with the modern research methodology, including what is necessary for working with industry sectors and for international partnership
• study the requirements necessary for the publication of scientific results in prestigious international publications.

The second stage of the programme included the design and development of projects and a competition between universities for the best project proposal. As a result of the competition, six teams were selected representing the following universities and their business partners:
1. Andijan Machine Engineering Institute
2. Ferghana State University
3. Karakalpak State University
4. Tashkent Institute of Irrigation and Agricultural Mechanization Engineers
5. Turin Polytechnic University
6. The Uzbek State University of World Languages

The third stage of the project was held on 1-2 March 2018 in Tashkent, where the winning teams had the opportunities for further development of their projects through interactive innovative events including the Enterprise and Ideas Bazaar, the Round Table meeting on defining the university's communication strategy with the enterprise, individual consultations with British and local experts in project management, enterprise strategy, project financing, marketing and public relations. The programme was summarised with the national symposium where six teams presented their projects and the winners of the final competition were selected.
Three winning teams were given opportunities for further development of their business plans with the participation of consultants from British universities and the membership in the coworking centre.

As the Deputy Minister of Higher and Secondary Specialised Education of the Republic of Uzbekistan, Uzkoboy Begimkulov, stated: "The seminar works to increase the focus of university-based research on addressing practical problems faced by economic sectors, as well as increasing innovative competences, including commercialisation of research outcomes of professors, PhD and Master degree students. We hope that the programme will help develop the skills to publish scientific articles in internationally recognised scientific journals."

The trainer of the TRED programme, Ms. Jo Chaffer, notes: "I am very happy to return to Uzbekistan and to have the opportunity to work with the talented researchers of this country for the third time . The new training was specifically designed to develop entrepreneurial skills which are essential in research works. The goal of the programme is to master successful models of how universities should support team research in collaboration with enterprise. We hope that this programme will contribute to the further development of new partnerships between research institutions and business, and will also play an important role in supporting initiatives and national priorities within the framework of the Year of Entrepreneurship and Innovation programme. I am very grateful for the continuous support of the British Council, the Ministry of Higher and Secondary Specialised Education and our team of professional trainers, thanks to these people the programme "Research and Economic Development" became possible."

Ms. Jamilya Gulyamova, the Deputy Director of the British Council in Uzbekistan, notes: "The programme studied modern models of collaboration between science and economics, discussed and developed practical and relevant approaches which ensured that the research activities in universities, actively involving doctoral and graduate students, could find innovative solutions and address specific issues faced by the industry.”

Please watch our video about the TRED programme round 2.

Training for Research-Enterprise Development 

В рамках программы обеспечения качества в высшем образовании Министерство высшего и среднего специального образования Республики Узбекистан и Британский Совет в Узбекистане провел программу, направленную на развитие устойчивых связей между научно-исследовательской работой вузов и индустрией и установление международных партнерских связей в этой важной сфере.

Первый этап программы включал серию научно-практических семинаров для 320 проректоров вузов по научной работе, докторантов и магистрантов из 65 вузов страны. Семинары прошли на базе трех интситутов: в Ташкентском финансовом институте 31 января и 1 февраля, в Самаркандском государственном университете 3 февраля и в Наманганском государственном университете 5 февраля. Программа осуществлена командой тренеров из вузов Узбекистана и консультантами из Великобритании Джо Шаффер и Мартин Пенни.

Цель первого этапа программы:
• выявить навыки, необходимые для обеспечения направленности научно-исследовательской работы в вузах на экономическое развитие, конкретные практические результаты и международное сотрудничество
• обсудить международный опыт проведения исследовательской работы, обеспечения ее тесной связи с бизнесом и индустрией с проректорами по научной работе, магистрантами и докторантами вузов Узбекистана; 
• изучить модели взаимодействия исследовательской работы вуза с индустрией
• обеспечить развитие навыков современной исследовательской работы и ознакомит с современной методикой исследования, включая то, что необходимо для работы с секторами индустрии и для международного партнерства;
• изучить требования, необходимые для публикации научных результатов в престижных международных изданиях.

Второй этап программы включал разработку и развитие проектов и конкурс между вузами на лучшее проектное предложение. В результате конкурса были отобраны 6 команд, представляющие следующие вузы и их бизнес-партнеров:

1. Андижанский машиностроительный институт 
2. Ферганский Государственный Университет 
3. Каракалпакский Государственный Университет
4. Ташкентский институт инженеров и механизации сельского хозяйства
5. Туринский политехнический университет
6. Узбекский Государственный университет мировых языков 

Третий этап проекта прошел 1-2 марта 2018 года в Ташкенте, в рамках которого командам-победителям были представлены возможности дальнейшей разработки проектов путем интерактивных инновационных мероприятий включая Ярмарку Предпринимательства и Идей, заседание Круглого Стола по определению стратегии связи вузов с индустрией, индивидуальных консультаций национальных и британских экспертов в области проектного менеджмента, индустриальной стратегии, проектного финансирования, маркетинга и связи с общественностью. Программу завершил национальный симпозиум, где были представлены проекты шести команд и были выбраны победители финального конкурса.

Три команды-победителя получат возможности для дальнейшего развития их бизнес планов при участии консультантов из британских университетов и членство в коворкинг центре.

Как подчеркивает заместитель министра высшего и средне-специального образования Республики Узбекистан Узокбой Бегимкулов: «Семинар способствует повышению направленности научной деятельности вузов на решение практических проблем отраслей экономики, а также повышению инновационной компетентности, в том числе навыков коммерциализации научных результатов преподавателей, докторантов и магистров. Мы надеемся, что программа будет способствовать развитию навыков публикации научных результатов в признанных и влиятельных научных журналах».

Тренер программы Джо Шаффер, отмечает: «Я очень рада вернуться в Узбекистан и уже в третий раз иметь возможность работать с талантливыми исследователями этой страны. Новый тренинг был специально разработан для развития предпринимательских навыков, применяемых в научно-исследовательских работах. Цель программы состоит в том, чтобы освоить успешные модели того, как университеты должны поддерживать командные исследовательские работы в сотрудничестве с секторами индустрии. Мы надеемся, что данная программа будет способстовать дальнейшему налаживанию новых партнерских отношений между научно-исследовательскими учреждениями и бизнесом, а также сыграет важную роль в поддержке инициатив и национальных приоритетов в рамках программы Года Предпринимательства и Инноваций. Я очень благодарна за постоянную поддержку Британского Совета, Министерства высшего и среднего специального образования и нашей команды профессиональных тренеров, без которых программа «Научно-исследовательская работа и экономическое развитие» не была бы возможна».

Заместитель директора Британского Совета в Узбекистане Джамиля Гулямова, отмечает: «Программа изучит современные модели взаимодействия науки и экономики, обсудит и разработает практические, соответствующие требованиям времени подходы, при которых исследовательская работа в вузах, активно вовлекающая докторантов и магистрантов, может находить инновационные решения и решать конкретные задачи индустрии”. 

Вы можете посмотреть видео второго раунда тренинга по связям научно-исследовательской работы и экономического развития.