Date
Wednesday 19 May 2021 -
16:30 to 18:00

As part of our Higher Education for Employability programme, we are organising a live webinar on the topic of ‘University rankings, league tables and credit transfer systems”.

The webinar is a joint event of the British Council, Ministry of higher and secondary specialized education of the Republic of Uzbekistan and the Higher Education Council of the Republic of Uzbekistan. It will bring together higher education professionals and academics from the UK and Uzbekistan so we could exchange knowledge and ideas.  

Webinar outline:

UK university rankings and league tables are highly competitive and a prominent feature of the UK Higher Education landscape which has over 160 Higher Education Institutions.  The ratings and league tables have a major impact on student decision-making when choosing a University.  In addition, the rankings are used internationally in decision making by funding bodies, students, Universities and Governments. The rankings and league tables have also had a major impact on UK Universities in driving enhancements in teaching, learning and the student experience. This seminar will provide an introduction and overview into University ratings and rankings in the UK and provide a case study on how engagement with the metrics used in the league tables can drive enhancements in teaching and learning. The seminar will also provide an over-view of UK credit transfer systems and provide insights into frameworks to facilitate the process of transferring academic credit.

The session will be led by:

Alison Johns – CEO Advance HE

Alison was appointed chief executive of Advance HE in autumn 2017. 

Prior to that she was the chief executive of the Leadership Foundation.  She has worked in higher education for 25 years.  Before becoming chief executive, she was head of policy for leadership, governance and management at the HEFCE (now the Office for Students), where she established both the Leadership Foundation and the Equality Challenge Unit.

She is a past president of the Association of University Administrators (AUA) and represents the UK on the Association of Commonwealth Universities Human Resources Management Network and has recently joined the British Council’s planning committee for Going Global, the major international higher education conference.

Alison has extensive international experience of higher education including leading the review of teaching and learning for the Australian government.  This led to the establishment of the Office for Learning and Teaching to enhance teaching quality across the Australian higher education sector.  Alison regularly takes part in conferences and events, both nationally and internationally, speaking on all aspects of university leadership, governance and management.

Dr Andrew Turner - Associate Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Teaching and Learning at Coventry University

Dr Andrew Turner is Associate Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Teaching and Learning at Coventry University. He has strategic responsibility for teaching and learning strategy and a proven track record in the strategic leadership of teaching and learning and the enhancement of the student experience. Andrew’s leadership of key University-wide projects has been instrumental to the enhancement of the student experience at Coventry. He has recently led the implementation of an innovative new learning experience platform, Aula, replacing the traditional virtual learning environment. Aula is at the heart of a new Education Technology ecosystem providing an engaged, social approach to learning.

He has responsibility for the academic development team and has led the establishment of the portfolio of accredited academic staff leadership development opportunities.

Andrew has worked extensively internationally with our international collaborative partners in the Middle East and Africa and was instrumental in initiating, leading and delivering accredited post-graduate academic development courses in Oman and Ghana.  In 2019, he developed and led the Oman’s Entrepreneurial Leaders Programme – a project funded under the Gulf Science, Innovation and Knowledge Economy (GSIKE) initiative of the UK Government delivered with the National Council for Entrepreneurship Education and the Middle East College.

Date
среда 19 May 2021 -
16:3018:00

В рамках нашей программы «Высшее образование для трудоустройства» мы организуем вебинар на тему «Рейтинги университетов и кредитно-трансферная система».

Вебинар - совместное мероприятие Британского Совета, Министерства высшего и среднего специального образования Республики Узбекистан и Совета по высшему образованию Республики Узбекистан. Основная аудитория вебинара -  профессионалы в системе высшего образования и исследователи из Великобритании и Узбекистана, с которыми мы обменялись опытом и идеями

Программа вебинара:

Рейтинги и таблицы лиг британских университетов высококонкурентны и являются отличительной чертой британской системы высшего образования, которая насчитывает более 160 высших учебных заведений. Рейтинги имеют большое влияние на принятие студентами решения при выборе университета. Кроме того, рейтинги используются на международном уровне при принятии решений финансирующими органами, студентами, университетами и правительствами. Рейтинги и таблицы лиг также оказали большое влияние на британские университеты, внося улучшения в преподавание, обучение и опыт студентов. Этот семинар предоставит введение и обзор рейтингов университетов в Великобритании и предоставит тематическое исследование того, как взаимодействие с показателями, используемыми в таблицах рейтингов, может способствовать улучшению преподавания и обучения. Семинар также предоставит обзор кредитно-трансферной системы в Великобритании и предоставит подробную информацию о механизмах, облегчающих процесс перевода зачетных единиц.

Фасилитаторы сессии:

Элисон Джонс, исполнительный директор - Advance HE

Элисон была назначена исполнительным директором Advance HE осенью 2017 года.

До этого она была исполнительным директором Leadership Foundation. Она проработала в высших учебных заведениях 25 лет. Прежде чем стать генеральным директором, она была руководителем отдела политики в области лидерства, управления и менеджмента в HEFCE (ныне Офис для студентов), где она основала как Leadership Foundation, так и Equality Challenge Unit.

Она является бывшим президентом Ассоциации администраторов университетов (AUA) и представляет Великобританию в сети управления персоналом университетов Содружества. Недавно она присоединилась к комитету Британского Совета по планированию Going Global, крупной международной конференции по высшему образованию.

Элисон имеет обширный международный опыт в области высшего образования, в том числе руководила обзором преподавания и обучения для правительства Австралии. Это привело к созданию Управления обучения и преподавания для повышения качества преподавания в секторе высшего образования Австралии. Элисон регулярно принимает участие в конференциях и мероприятиях как на национальном, так и на международном уровне, рассказывая обо всех аспектах лидерства, управления и менеджмента университетов.

Д-р Эндрю Тернер - проректор по преподаванию и обучению в Университете Ковентри.

Он является ответственным за стратегию преподавания и обучения, а также зарекомендовал себя в области стратегического лидерства в области преподавания и обучения и повышения качества обслуживания студентов. Ключевые общеуниверситетские проекты под руководством Эндрю способствовали повышению качества обучения студентов в Ковентри. Недавно он возглавил внедрение инновационной платформы обучения Aula, которая заменила традиционную виртуальную среду обучения. Aula находится в центре новой экосистемы образовательных технологий, обеспечивающей заинтересованный, социальный подход к обучению.

Он отвечает за группу академического развития и руководил созданием портфеля аккредитованных возможностей развития лидерских качеств среди академических сотрудников.

Эндрю активно сотрудничал с нашими международными партнерами на Ближнем Востоке и в Африке и сыграл важную роль в организации, руководстве и проведении аккредитованных курсов повышения квалификации для аспирантов в Омане и Гане. В 2019 году он разработал и возглавил Программу лидеров предпринимательства Омана - проект, финансируемый в рамках инициативы правительства Великобритании в области науки, инноваций и экономики знаний стран Персидского залива (GSIKE), реализуемый совместно с Национальным советом по обучению предпринимательству и Ближневосточным колледжем.