English reform project

Our English reform project aims to achieve lasting improvement in the standards of English language teaching in Uzbekistan by enhancing the learning experience of future teachers of English and by setting clear exit standards in line with international standards. 

The new pre-service teacher training programme developed in partnership with the Ministry of Higher and Secondary Specialised Education of the Republic of Uzbekistan, 17 pre-service teacher training institutions in Uzbekistan and Norwich Institute for Language Education will now provide all future teachers (1,700 annually) with the skills and experience to respond to the growing demand coming from the young generation. 

The PRESETT Curriculum has been adopted and implemented in all the universities responsible for the training of English teachers since 2013. The project activities this year will include further scale-up of the programme nationwide; trainer and teacher training in key areas of the reform including assessment and material development; project external evaluation; and policy dialogue events to bring together project stakeholders and international partners to shape the strategy for further enhancement of the quality culture in English teacher education.

This September there will be the first 4th-year students studying the new programme. To help teachers consistently implement the curriculum the August teacher training for 130 teachers is planned. The training programme will be developed by the end of July and the participants can find it on our website here. Another major task for the coming academic year is the exit test administration in all 17 Universities. The final attestation tool was developed according to the international standards and trialled in five univrsities: Andijan State University, Bukhara State University, Namangan State University, Nukus State Pedagogical Institute, Uzbekistan State University of World Languages in June.

You can read the latest news about the PRESETT project in this newsletter

Teaching English Reform Project ©

Mat Wright, British Council Photos

Наш проект по реформе системы подготовки будущих преподавателей английского языка  нацелен на достижение долгосрочного совершенствования стандартов преподавания английского языка в Узбекистане путем улучшения опыта преподавания будущих учителей английского языка и разработки четких стандартов для выпускников, соответствующих международным стандартам.

Новая программа подготовки будущих учителей разрабатанная в рамках совместного проекта между Министерством высшего и среднего специального образования Республики Узбекистан, 17 ВУЗами Узбекистана и Норичским Институтом Языкового Образования, обеспечит всех будущих учителей (1700 ежегодно) профессиональными навыками и опытом, необходимыми для удовлетворения возрастающего спроса со стороны молодого поколения. 

Новая программа была утверждена и внедрена во всех ВУЗах, готовящих будущих преподавателей в 2013 году. Деятельность проекта в  этом году будет направлена на дальнейшую полномасштабную реализацию программы на национальном уровне, обучение преподавателей и тренеров в ключевых направлениях реформ в системе образования, включая современные методы оценки и разработки материалов, внешней оценки проекта и проведения мероприятий с целью налаживания диалога между всеми заинтересованными сторонами проекта и международными партнерами для выработки стратегии для дальнейшего совершенствования культуры качества в обучении преподавателей английского языка.

В этом году в сентябре выйдут на учёбу студенты 4-х курсов, обучающиеся по новой программе. В помощь преподавателям в сохранении последовательности в обучении новой программе планируется проведение тренинга в августе. Программа тренинга будет разработана к концу июля и участники тренинга смогут найти её на нашем вебсайте. Следующая масштабная задача на предстоящий учебный год – проведение итогового тестирования во всех 17 вузах. Итоговый инструмент аттестации был разработан в соответствии с международными стандартами и был опробован в 5 вузах страны: Андижанском государственном университете, Бухарском государственном университете, Наманганском государственном университете, Нукуском государственном педагогическом институте и Узбекском государственном университете мировых языков в июне этого года. 

Вы можете ознакомиться с последними новостями из жизни проекта в нашей газете.